If It’s Not One Thing

I don’t know much about politics or anything, but I can say that this negativity toward the gay community lately all over social media has my head spinning. More particularly, one of my parents’ friends. Roger is a guy that my family has known since I was a baby. Don’t get me wrong. He’s a really nice man and would do anything for me. The only reason that is, though, is because he is basically family. When he first found out I was a homosexual, I don’t think he took it lightly. I’m scared to think of what would happen if he had never met me. What if he met a “fag” at a bar that he frequents? Would said “fag” be physically harmed or publicly shamed just because he is gay? I don’t know, but this is a post I saw on his Facebook yesterday.  It really got to me and I can’t decide if I want to delete him as a Facebook friend:

  
Sure, everyone is entitled to their own opinion. However, why does it have to be liberal? Liberals did nothing to make the Dukes of Hazzard go off air. Not to mention, we are bringing this up on 4th of July. Can’t we just have one day where America is completely equal,  where my uncle Roger doesn’t feel it necessary to insult? Of course not. He was not the only one, either.

I have this coworker. I’m going to keep her anonymous because I don’t find it nice to blast people publicly. She is one of the coolest big old ladies I know. I thought she was a really awesome person. Until I saw this:

  
Now don’t get me wrong: I’m totally for kids needing to pull their damn pants up. However, once again, what in the gay hell does pants have anything to do with the flag? What makes people feel the necessity to post things like this? Just to get a rise out of a person? The confederate flag came down because it represents slavery and oppression. Slavery is a disgusting thing. Not to mention, it’s not just African Americans that wear their pants like that. What about all the thug ass white boys that walk on the west side, looking like white trash? Why it gotta be black? Not to mention, this is coming from a gay white male.

Recently, in the city of Grand Rapids, where I reside, the city has decided to put up this beautiful light display on a famous bridge to congratulate gay marriage:

  
Beautiful! Right? Well, remember that coworker that I mentioned earlier? She couldn’t even give the bridge five minutes of being lit up without posting some nasty post about it. Before I show you, I want you to think about what I said before. What makes people feel the necessity to counteract with negative comments when it has nothing to do with the subject at hand?

  

So, God forbid that I get to celebrate my equality and happiness with the whole community. I am so sick of seeing posts everywhere on Facebook and Instagram, discouraging me from being myself.

If it’s a confederate flag, what about the black kids pulling up their pants?

If it’s a bridge lit up in rainbow, what about the cross that can’t go up?

If it’s gay marriage, it must be the liberals.
What the fuck do any of those things have to do with each other. As mentioned earlier, I can’t stand politics. This has just gotten out of control. Is it really becoming a huge battle? Maybe we should go back to the Civil War, where all the idiots lived in the south and all the smart ones stayed away. The way it’s looking, that could be the next step. Can’t we just exile all of these ignoramuses to a deserted island in the middle of nowhere with nothing but each other? Sadly, I’m sure that they would still find something to pick at each other about.

Republicans: if you can’t blame someone other than yourself, you’re doing it wrong.

  In other news, I enjoyed a great fourth with these fabulous women 😍😍
Looks like it’s time to take a gander at my Facebook “friends” and do some editing. Negative people suck.

2 thoughts on “If It’s Not One Thing

Leave a Reply

