Gay Marriage, The Confederates, and other Shenanigans

Marriage equality happened in all fifty states last week. That is a great victory, and I really am happy about it. Does it mean I’m going out tomorrow and eloping with the next guy I see? Well, the answer to that is a big gay no, but congrats to the all the people that decide to get married because they are in complete passion for the other person, regardless of sex! My sexual orientation is something I hold close to me, but it’s not my complete identity. I like to identify myself as more than just a cisgender homosexual Caucasian male. Don’t get me wrong, as soon as I open my mouth you can tell I’m g-g-gay. But why must a person only identify me as that? Why can’t they see I’m a Christian like them? Why can’t they see that I have the same job as them? Why don’t they see me as an equal? Do I have something on my face? Someone answer me this question before I go all Incredible Hulk on someone!

Onto the next topic at hand: In other news, the confederate flag also was taken down last week (the day after gay marriage was legalized, I believe). I am all for letting your freak flag fly, but this flag has haunted me since I was a sophomore in high school. I went to a school where chewing tobacco and cowboy boots were very prominent. Don’t call me a stereo typist or anything, but some of those redneck boys sure did love their confederate flags on the back of their big pickup trucks. I was publicly humiliated a lot by those guys in school. Whether it be calling me a fag, homo, etc., or telling me they were gonna kick my ass, the flag was there. So yes, it is a huge relief to me that the flag came down. The flag repulsed me. Terribly. It makes me want to puke all over the place.

The reason I decided to bring up both of these topics in the same posting is because social media has become a war between the two. There are some conservative people saying that they want straight rights now. Seriously? We can’t even get one week of equality and happiness without someone raining on the parade? Is that really too much to ask for? Well, sadly, apparently it is. I’ve seen negative media, photos, and voice recordings from both sides of the spectrum. To be completely honest, just let it go guys. I’ve already deleted 2 people on the confederate side and one on the gay marriage side on my Facebook. Hey, if you’re gonna be ignorant, I don’t care what your beliefs are.  Is this the Civil War all over again? If so, the reenactment is pretty spot on.  I guess at least the Union is winning.
So yes, I wish that I wasn’t defined by my sexuality. However, it is a part of my identity and I will embrace it. I leave you for the night with a quote from one of my favorite people:

I know not everyone will like me, but this is who I am so if you don’t like it, tough!

– Britney Spears

-B

Leave a Reply

